Honors and Awards

Find a Translator or Interpreter
Search for:

Honors and Awards

Ungar German Translation Award

ATA invites nominations for the 2017 Ungar German Translation Award. The award is bestowed biennially in odd-numbered years for a distinguished literary translation from German into English that has been published in the United States. The Ungar German Translation Award is presented at ATA's Annual Conference.


To be eligible for the award, the translation must be from German into English and must have been published in the United States between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2016.

The published translation must list the translator’s name on the title page and preferably on the dust jacket. Preference will be given to published works that provide biographical information about the translator.

The translator does not have to be an ATA member; however, the translator should have a strong connection with the U.S. through citizenship or permanent residence.


The nomination must be submitted by the publisher of the work and must include the following:

  • Cover letter with complete publication information for the work being nominated, including the date of publication.
  • Brief vita of the translator, including place of residence and contact information.
  • Three copies of the nominated work with one extra copy of the dust jacket.
  • Three copies of 10 consecutive pages from the original work, keyed to the page numbers of the translation. Please do not staple. If providing a dual-language work, copies are still required.
  • Three copies of the translated pages that correspond to the 10 consecutive pages provided from the original work. Please do not staple. If providing a dual-language work, copies are still required.

Deadline: March 2, 2017; publishers are encouraged to submit nominations early.


$1,000, a certificate of recognition, and up to $500 toward expenses for attending ATA's Annual Conference.

Please send nominations to:

Ungar German Translation Award

Lois Feuerle, Chair
ATA Honors & Awards Committee
American Translators Association
225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 590
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: +1-703-683-6100
Fax: +1-703-683-6122

Recipients of the Ungar German Translation Award

1987   Breon Mitchell
1989   Leila Vennewitz
1991   Helen Atkins
1993   James Rolleston
1995   John E. Woods
1997   None Awarded
1999   Denise Kaiser
2001   John Felstiner
2003   Michael Hamburger
2005   Daniel Slager
2007   Philip Boehm
2009   Rodney Livingstone
2011   Robert E. Norton
2013   Philip Boehm
2015   Susan Bernofsky