American Translators Association Committees

Find a Translator or Interpreter
Search for:

American Translators Association Committees

The Association has established a number of standing and ad hoc committees to address issues that affect individual ATA members as well as the organization as a whole. Committee Chairs, all of whom must be voting members of the Association, are appointed by the ATA President.

The ATA Bylaws designate the following standing committees: Executive, Finance and Audit, Ethics, Membership, and Nominating and Leadership Development. The purpose of each standing committee is also outlined in the Bylaws. Other committees, whether standing or ad hoc, are established as needed by the Board of Directors.

ATA is a volunteer-driven organization and member participation is the strength behind many of the Association’s programs and events. There are many opportunities for members to get involved, give back to the Association, work with fellow members, and broaden their professional network.

Please click the committee name for specific objectives and charges.

Business Practices Education

Tess Whitty, Chair
Jeana Clark
Sarah Symons Glegorio
Danielle Maxson
Paul Merriam
Robin Bonthrone


David A. Stephenson, Chair
Michèle Hansen, First Deputy Chair & Secretary
Larry Bogoslaw, Second Deputy Chair & Grader Trainer
Isabelle Berquin
Mercedes de la Rosa-Sherman
Nora Favorov
Geoff Koby
Holly Mikkelson
Andrea Nemeth-Newhauser
Izaskum Orkwis
Izumi Suzuki


Antonio E. Guerra, Chair
Anne Connor
Kathryn German
Mary Maloof
Christina Green
Marion Rhodes
ATA Chapter Officers


Percy Balemans, Chair
Paula Arturo
Lebzy Gonzalez
Tricia Perry
Daniel Sebesta
Beth Smith

Education and Pedagogy
(Non-ATA Programs)

Caitilin Walsh, Chair
Betsy Ainsworth-Grimes
Jason Jolley
Renée Jourdenais
Geoff Koby
Diego Mansilla
Tina Peña
Bill Rivers
Courtney Searls-Ridge
Barry Slaughter Olsen
Kathleen Stein-Smith


Jill Sommer, Chair
Mike Collins
Jutta Diel-Dominique
Roxana Dinu
Kathryn German
Jennifer Guernsey
Natalie Higgins
Tricia Perry
Ana-Cecilia Rosado

Finance and Audit

John Milan, Chair
Evelyn Garland
Geoff Koby
Corinne McKay
Karen Tkaczyk
Ted Wozniak

Governance and Communications

Ted Wozniak, Chair
Melinda Gonzalez-Hibner
Geoff Koby
Meghan Konkol

Government Relations Committee

Corinne McKay, Chair
Jennifer DeCamp
Bill Rivers
Madalena Sánchez Zampaulo
Melinda Gonzalez-Hibner

Honors and Awards

Lois M. Feuerle, Chair
Gertrude Champe
Heide Crossley
Robin Estererg
Lois Federal
Jean Leblon
Connie Prener
Courtney Searls-Ridge
Carol Stennes

Interpretation Policy Advisory

Cristina Helmerichs, Chair
Marisa Gillio
Melinda Gonzalez-Hibner
Antonio Guerra
Isabelle Olesen
Izumi Suzuki
Carol Velandia


Madalena Sánchez Zampaulo, Chair
Veronika Demichelis
Antonio E. Guerra
Jamie Hartz
Ben Karl
Meghan Konkol


Tess Whitty, Chair
Tony Guerra
Michèle Hansen
Dorothee Racette
Susanne van Eyl

Nominating and Leadership Development

David Rumsey, Chair
Lucy Gunderson
Connie Prener
David Stephenson
Milena Waldron

Professional Development
(ATA Programs)

Anne Connor, Chair
Antonio E. Guerra
Elena Langdon

Public Relations

Eve Bodeux, Chair
Molly Yurick, Deputy Chair
Antonio Guerra, Deputy Chair
Matt Baird
Anne Connor
Abigal Dahlberg
Liz Essary
Jamie Hartz
Meghan Konkol
Elena Langdon
Marion Rhodesl
Emily Safrin
Jessica Sanchez
Birgit Vosseler-Brehmer


Jennifer DeCamp, Chair
Robin Bonthrone
Giovanna Carriero-Contreras
Amanda Curry
Kathleen Diamond
David Filip
Bill Hindle
Steve Lank
Arle Lommel
Melinda Lyons
Alan Melby
Mandy Pet
Peter Reynolds
Bill Rivers
Monique Roske
Tommy Tomolonis
Kara Warburton
Sue Ellen Wright

Translation and Interpreting Resources

Jost O. Zetzsche, Chair
Tuomas Kostiainen
Yves Averous